

California State Board of Pharmacy

2720 Gateway Oaks Drive, Suite 100

Sacramento, CA 95833

Phone: (916) 518-3100 Fax: (916) 574-8618

www.pharmacv.ca.gov

Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency Department of Consumer Affairs Gavin Newsom, Governor



California State Board of Pharmacy Department of Consumer Affairs Disciplinary Petition Committee Meeting Minutes

Date: December 18, 2024

Location: OBSERVATION AND PUBLIC COMMENT IN PERSON:

California State Board of Pharmacy

2720 Gateway Oaks Drive, First Floor Hearing Room

Sacramento, CA 95833

Board of Pharmacy staff members were present at the

observation and public comment location.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION AND COMMENT FROM A

REMOTE LOCATION: WebEx

Committee Members

Present: Nicole Thibeau, PharmD, Licensee Member, Chair

Jay Newell, MSW, Public Member

Seung Oh, PharmD, Licensee Member

Satinder Sandhu, PharmD, Licensee Member Maria Serpa, PharmD, Licensee Member

Committee Members

Not Present: Jeff Hughes, Public Member

Staff Present: Anne Sodergren, Executive Officer

Shelley Ganaway, DCA Staff Counsel

Debbie Damoth, Executive Specialist Manager

December 18, 2024

I. Call to Order, Establishment of Quorum, and General Announcements

Chairperson Thibeau called the meeting to order at approximately 9:00 a.m.

Dr. Thibeau reminded all individuals present that the Board is a consumer protection agency charged with administering and enforcing Pharmacy Law. Where protection of the public is inconsistent with other interests sought to be promoted, the protection of the public shall be paramount. Dr. Thibeau advised all individuals the meeting was being conducted via WebEx. Department of Consumer Affairs' staff provided general instructions for participating in the meeting via WebEx or phone.

Roll call was taken. The following Committee members were present via WebEx: Jay Newell, MSW, Public Member; Seung Oh, PharmD, Licensee Member; Satinder Sandhu, PharmD, Licensee Member; Maria Serpa, PharmD, Licensee Member; and Nicole Thibeau, PharmD, Licensee Member. A quorum was established.

Dr. Thibeau reminded Committee members participating via WebEx to remain visible on camera throughout the open portion of the meeting. If members needed to temporarily turn off cameras due to challenges with internet connectivity, members were reminded to announce the reason for their nonappearance when the camera was turned off.

II. Public Comments on Items Not on the Agenda/Agenda Items for Future Meetings

Members of the public were provided with an opportunity to provide comment for items not on the agenda or agenda items for a future meeting.

Members of the public were provided the opportunity to comment in Sacramento; however, there were no members of the public attending at the Sacramento location.

Members of the public were provided the opportunity to comment through WebEx; however, there were no public comments made.

III. Petitions for Reinstatement of Licensure, Early Termination of Probation, or Other Modification of Penalty

Administrative Law Judge Patrice De Guzman Huber presided over the hearings.

a. Samira Khatami, RPH 60045

The Committee took a break from 10:13 a.m. to 10:18 a.m. Roll call was taken. The following Committee members were present via WebEx: Jay Newell, MSW, Public Member; Seung Oh, PharmD, Licensee Member; Satinder Sandhu,

PharmD, Licensee Member; Maria Serpa, PharmD, Licensee Member; and Nicole Thibeau, PharmD, Licensee Member. A quorum was established.

b. Sheldon D. Borson, Jr., RPH 45970

The Committee took a break from 11:10 a.m. to 11:25 a.m. Roll call was taken. The following Committee members were present via WebEx: Jay Newell, MSW, Public Member; Seung Oh, PharmD, Licensee Member; Satinder Sandhu, PharmD, Licensee Member; Maria Serpa, PharmD, Licensee Member; and Nicole Thibeau, PharmD, Licensee Member. A quorum was established.

c. Luke D. Vu, RPH 54277

The Committee took a break from 12:11 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. Roll call was taken. The following Committee members were present via WebEx: Jay Newell, MSW, Public Member; Seung Oh, PharmD, Licensee Member; Satinder Sandhu, PharmD, Licensee Member; Maria Serpa, PharmD, Licensee Member; and Nicole Thibeau, PharmD, Licensee Member. A quorum was established.

- d. Sun Pharmacy, PHY 54368
- e. Luu Phuong Nguyen, RPH 58306
- f. Anita Birosel-McQuigg, RPH 42446

Petitioner Birosel-McQuigg was heard first due to technical difficulties of the first petitioner. The Committee's vote occurred at 9:13 a.m.

Motion: To continue the hearing to a later date as requested by

the petitioner

M/S: Oh/Sandhu

Members of the public were provided the opportunity to comment in Sacramento; however, there were no members of the public attending at the Sacramento location.

Members of the public were provided the opportunity to comment through WebEx; however, there were no public comments made.

California State Board of Pharmacy
Disciplinary Petition Committee Meeting Minutes – December 18, 2024
Page 3 of 4

Support: 5 Oppose: 0 Abstain: 0 Not Present: 1

Board Member	Vote
Hughes	Not Present
Newell	Support
Oh	Support
Sandhu	Support
Serpa	Support
Thibeau	Support

IV. Closed Session

Open session concluded at approximately 1:50 p.m. The Committee entered closed session at approximately 1:56 p.m. and ended closed session at approximately 3:09 p.m.

V. Reconvene in Open Session to Adjourn for the Day

The Committee reconvened into open session and adjourned the meeting at approximately 3:10 p.m.